### **CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL**

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held in the Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 22 April 2010.

### **PRESENT**

Cllr Mrs J G Lawrence (Chairman)
Cllr A Fahn (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs J A E Clarke Cllrs P Rawcliffe J Murray R C Stay

Apologies for Absence: Cllrs Mrs P E Turner MBE

Substitutes: Cllrs Mrs C F Chapman MBE

Members in Attendance: Cllrs P N Aldis D Jones

R A Baker M R Jones A R Bastable J Kane

R D Berry D J Lawrence

L Birt Mrs A M Lewis
P A Blaine H J Lockey
D Bowater S F Male
A D Brown K C Matthews

N B Costin Ms C Maudlin
I Dalgarno D McVicar

Mrs R J Drinkwater Mrs M Mustoe

P A Duckett T Nicols
Mrs J Freeman A A J Rogers
P Freeman J A G Saunders
D J Gale A Shadbolt

Mrs R B Gammons K Sharer M Gibson P Snelling

Mrs S A Goodchild Miss A Sparrow

T Green B J Spurr Mrs D B Gurney J Street

Mrs D B Gurney

Mrs C Hegley

P Hollick

D J Hopkin

J Street

G Summerfield

Mrs C Turner

A M Turner

J G Jamieson

K Janes

B Wells

R W Johnstone P Williams J N Young

Officers in Attendance: Mr R Carr Chief Executive

Mr R Ellis Director of Customer and Shared

Services

Mrs E Grant Deputy Chief Executive and Director

of Children's Services

Mrs S Hobbs Democratic Services Officer
Mrs K John Head of Democratic Services
Mr A King Head of Corporate Finance
Mrs B Morris Assistant Director Legal &

**Democratic Services and Monitoring** 

Officer

Ms M Peaston Interim Committee Services

Manager

Mr E Thompson Assistant Director, Adult Social Care

## GPC/10/1 Membership of the Appointments Panel and Staff Consultative Committees

The Committee received and considered a schedule submitted by the Monitoring Officer outlining the nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel and the Staff Consultative Committees. An amended schedule was circulated at the meeting.

#### **RESOLVED**

that Members of the Appointments Panel and Staff Consultative Committees, as amended, be appointed as indicated on the schedule attached as Appendix A to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting commenced at 7.40 p.m. and concluded at 7.42 p.m.)

Chairman
Dated

# NOMINATIONS FOR THE APPOINTMENTS PANEL AND STAFF CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEES

Appointments Panel (5 members appointed by General Purposes Committee)	Cllr Maurice Jones (C) Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C) Cllr Richard Stay (C) Cllr Mrs Tricia Turner MBE (C) Cllr Peter Blaine (LD) Subs: Cllr Roger Baker (C) Cllr Peter Rawcliffe (C) Cllr Peter Snelling (LD)
Employee Partnership Committee (7 members + substitutes appointed by General Purposes Committee)	Cllr Lewis Birt (C) Cllr Mrs Fiona Chapman MBE (C) Cllr Ian Dalgarno (C) Cllr Mrs Rita Drinkwater (C) Cllr David Hopkin (C) Cllr Mrs Jane Lawrence (C) Cllr Peter Blaine (LD) Subs: Cllr Mrs Carole Hegley (C) Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr John Street (C) Cllr Peter Snelling (LD)
JCNC for Primary and Secondary Education (7 members + substitutes appointed by General Purposes Committee)	Cllr Alan Bastable (C) Cllr Norman Costin (C) Cllr Mrs Rita Drinkwater (C) Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr Mrs Anita Lewis (C) Cllr Mrs C Turner (C)* Cllr Dr Rita Egan (LD) Subs: Cllr Ian Dalgarno (C) Cllr Alan Shadbolt (C) Cllr Brian Spurr (C) Cllr Peter Blaine (LD)

<sup>\*</sup>Councillor Mrs C Turner to replace Councillor S Male

This page is intentionally left blank